Camellia, citrus, ta-sai…

Camellias in winter offer one of the few colorful sights in our garden…
The nectar in the flowers attract a very cute small bird call ‘mejiro’ (Japanese White Eye?)… 
I like the flowers so much that I am contemplating to make a hedge with just the camellia plant…
One reason I enjoy living here is that the neighbors are friendly…
Over the weekend, I made a new friend and was immediately offered some oranges…
These oranges are very sour and are sometimes used for religious purposes…
I am suggesting to my missus to make marmalade out of them..
Then our next door neighbor gave us some ‘yuzus’ (Japanese citron?)…
This citrus fruit has a very refreshing flavor to it, and we plan to use it for cooking…
Our neighbor prefers to squeeze its juice into some Japanese sake, on the rocks…

Harvested some ta-sai (a type of Chinese green belonging to the cabbage family)…
This vegetable is one of my wife’s favorite…
The taste is quite lovely, I must say…
It is highly cold-resistent and easy to grow…
About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Camellia, citrus, ta-sai…

  1. YUZU ka, looks like lime is it not? Thank you for reminding me that I actually have ta-sai seeds bought last year but have not sowed them yet and now I know what it looks like from your photos. Camellias bring back fond memory from Japan.

  2. p3chandan says:

    Camellia hedges would be so lovely and sweet smelling! Mr Lrong you are so lucky to have friendly neighbours in a faraway land, and with your proficiency in their language, Im sure you dont feel homesick at all!

  3. Lrong says:

    MKG… we have a line tree too but it has yet to bear fruits… I think they are a different breed… good luck with your ta-sai… p3… you are right about the sweet smelling camellias… yeap, I am always thanking my stars and my wife for being so lucky… but I do feel 'homesick' to a certain extent so much so that I balik kampong about twice a year…

  4. Matron says:

    That's really interesting that you have 'sour' oranges over there. Yes, in England we call them 'Seville' oranges and they only come into season in February for about 6 weeks. We make marmalade with them.

  5. Lrong says:

    We are trying to use the recipe for Seville marmalade for these sour oranges… we don't mind our marmalade turning out a bit sour, but we shall see how it turns out…

  6. Autumn Belle says:

    The pink camellia is really sweet and lovely. I can imagine how scented it is too. Some of the edibles featured in this post are strange and new to me. So good to know about them.

  7. Lrong says:

    Right on about the camellia… it is really a beautiful flower… flowers are good, but my passion somewhat tilts towards edibles, actually…

  8. Malar says:

    Camellia is a beautiful flower! You're lucky to have good neighbour!What did you cooked with the sour orange?

  9. Lrong says:

    Indeed it is… I may do a post on the tea plant which is related to the camellia… I think my missus is going to make marmalade out of the sour orange…

  10. fer says:

    Beautiful photo! so nice you have great neighbors

  11. Lrong says:

    Thanks for your compliment… and yes, pretty good neighbors I am blessed with…

  12. Theanne... says:

    Camellia photo is beautiful…how delightful to make a new friend and receive oranges…marmalade sounds like an excellent idea…and the Chinese green sounds delicious…I like veggies that grow through the winter.

  13. Lrong says:

    Theanne… many thanks… we just made some marmalade out of the oranges… winter greens are really tasty and sweet… we enjoy them a lot too…

Thank you for coming by!

