Coral berry or ‘Manryo’

In the gloom of winter, lies this plant called coral berry…

The Japanese have a more colorful name…
Manryo (万両), as in ‘10,000 Dollars’? 

The bright red berries certainly light up the dull of winter…
Other than that, they are a source of food for the birds…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Coral berry or ‘Manryo’

  1. rainfield61 says:

    万两,then their cousin must be 千两。

  2. Theanne says:

    wow that's a red that jumps right off the bush into one's eyes! beautiful…I used to like to watch the Cardinals eat our pyracantha berries!

  3. coco says:

    万両 is common plant among us. The kanji means 10,000 Dollars but I'm not sure whether the name means money.

  4. Hi Lrong,Lovely photos-can you eat them or are they just for the birds?

  5. Autumn Belle says:

    These bright red coral berries will certainly certainly bring cheer to the cold season, like gems and rubies.

  6. Norma Chang says:

    Like the Japanese name. Glad the berries are a source of food for the birds.

  7. Maia says:

    You captured beautifully these bright red berries. Nice shots.

  8. Stephanie says:

    Feels like Christmas! Those berries are delightful 😀

  9. Robbie Palm says:

    That is a stunning plant—I'm partial to red + orange in the garden! robbie 🙂

  10. Liz says:

    Those are lovely photos – your blog always cheers me up with something lovely and colourful – thankyou.

  11. Lrong says:

    You are spot on… the 千両 has red berries that protrude above the leaves…

  12. Lrong says:

    I have never seen a real cardinal before… through the net,it seems that they are found only in the American continent… no?

  13. Lrong says:

    Yeap, manryou is common in Japan… think they look prettier as a bonsai…

  14. Lrong says:

    It is probably edible for us too, but I think there is very very little flesh…

  15. Lrong says:

    They are somewhat like gems in the garden…

  16. Lrong says:

    The Japanese name is certainly more 'exciting'…

  17. Lrong says:

    Thank you Maia…

  18. Lrong says:

    Yeap, it is quite a stunning plant although I understand that this plant is somewhat a 'problem' in Florida for its 'invasive-ness'…

  19. Lrong says:

    Thank you Liz, for your kind comments… I really love shooting pictures…

  20. Mr. H. says:

    It certainly is a beautiful plant…especially in the depths of winter.

  21. lina says:

    Love the colour! They'd sure stand out against a winter backdrop. They are not edible?

  22. Dew says:

    The leaves do have similarities with my passion fruit leaves. I saliva when I saw those berries, so beautiful. Just like a type of "haw" from China.

  23. Cat says:

    I can see how they would lure the birds to them and see even more clearly why your camera would be tempted!

  24. Malar says:

    the berry look so yummy! Is it edible? Look like cherry to me!

  25. Lrong says:

    Right on, Mr. H…

  26. Lrong says:

    Not yet… perhaps I shall try to chew on one this weekend…

  27. Lrong says:

    I would like to plant passion fruit here but…

  28. Lrong says:

    Cat… you are right… the color really stands out…

  29. Lrong says:

    They do look yummy… 😉

  30. Does it bear 10,000 fruits a time? Have a nice weekend!

  31. Lrong says:

    Now, that would be nice…

Thank you for coming by!

