Nasturtium, to start the ball rolling…

Nasturtium, to start the ball rolling...

Ok, this is the very first post for Potager Y @ Japan, ‘Version 2.0’
(For ‘Version 1.0’, please see here.)
Had been struggling to learn how to post pictures in WordPress…
(Had used Blogger since 2004 as my blog host, but decided to switch to WordPress… see here for reasons.)
This nasturtium is grown by my ‘suweeto haato’ in a pot, and I thought it would be nice to put it in this first post…
I am quite surprised that she can take care of this plant so well, even in a pot…
Mine was planted on the ground and god knows where they are now…
We sometimes consume the flowers with our salads…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Nasturtium, to start the ball rolling…

  1. Mrs. N says:

    Well, I’m the first person to comment on your new blog!! Great photo! I didn’t know you could eat them! Welcome to WordPress! I dumped Blogger a long time ago myself. Now I much prefer WordPress, it is a much more professional program than Blogger and once you get the hang of it, you will like it.

    • lronglim says:

      Yes Connie, you are indeed the very first person to comment on my new blog… 🙂
      And yes, nasturtium flowers and leaves can be eaten… they have a mild ‘peppery’ flavor and they really spruce up the salad bowl with their colors… I am beginning to like WP more and more… it is exciting, really, to be in the ‘discovery’ mode again…

  2. KK Low says:

    Lrong, I just found your blog and really enjoyed your blog. Thanks for sharing your experiences and the many beautiful pictures. For being a Malaysian and gardener myself, I can relate to many of your experiences. Am impressed with the beautiful pictures you took and would love to know what camera and lens you use? I live in the state of Iowa in US.

    • lronglim says:

      Hi KK… thank you very much for your wonderful comments… am very happy to connect with an overseas Msian, and a gardener at that too… I used to live in Carbondale, Illinois, and Lubbock, Texas, during my univ. days in the mid 1980s… for most of my garden photos, I use Nikon D200 with a macro lens (f=55 mm, 1:3.5)…

  3. Liz says:

    Lovely photo – I had stopped commenting on your blogger blog because of the google +1 thing so really glad I can comment again. I must sow some nasturtiums – I love them but somehow forget to sow them as I rush to get the vegetables sown.

  4. mac says:

    Lovely nasturtium photo, I’ve never been able to grow it, I should try wintersown seeds.
    Congrats on your new blog, I’ve been wanting to switch to WP for couple years but drag my feet, maybe coming winter when I have more time to learn.

    • lronglim says:

      Thank you Mac, for your kind comments… nasturtium is indeed a lovely flower… WP is more versatile and flexible than google, I think… I am beginning to like it a lot…

  5. Io non sono truly fantastic con inglese nevertheless I discover questo really relaxing per interpretare.

Thank you for coming by!

