Pear flowers…

Pear flowers...

Took this shot some time ago…
The size of the fruit is about the size of a man’s thumb now…
Hope it will grow bigger but then, knowing my farming ‘skills’…
Anyway, pear trees botanically belong to the rose family…
Their flowers do look quite similar to a certain extent… no?

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Pear flowers…

  1. I learned something today Lrong…I now know that roses and pears are kin…and yes the petals on the pear tree do look quite like a rose 🙂

  2. Robbie says:

    Lovely picture! I just ordered two dwarf pear trees today for our backyard. I have one( not dwarf) that is about 45 yrs old and it supplies us with the most wonderful pears from late august till september( sweet like candy!).Our old pear tree was damaged during the storm a few years ago, but is still producing.I found a spot to squeeze in two small dwarf pear trees. You can plant them 10 feet apart. I just had to have more pears! The ones in the store are not the same! robbie:-)

    • Lrong says:

      A 45 year old pear tree with fruits sweet as candy? I am envious, Robbie….
      My trees may take several more years (hopefully not 45) to realize their full potential…
      Good luck with your dwarf pear trees..

  3. KL says:

    What a beautiful picture. We have a tall, pear tree (about 150 or 200 feet), and it bears lots of fruits. But, we never get to eat them as they are destroyed by squirrels, chipmunks, birds .

    • Lrong says:

      Thank you for your kind comment… that’s quite a huge pear tree… too bad that only the birds and squirrels get to enjoy the fruits…

  4. Sho'Nuff says:

    This lovely photograph made my breath come short. Well done! You will get larger fruits if you thin each cluster to one or two only. It’s tough though… birds always make off with my pear fruits early in the season before they ripen… and I’m too lazy to put a net up around them. Such a lovely blog. Thank you for your hard work!

    • Lrong says:

      Thank you for your kind comments… Yes, I thinned the fruits in all the clusters but I think the fruits will still end up tiny as I do not really fertilize them… too cruel of me… the birds must really like the taste of your pears…

  5. Diana says:

    Cantiknya.
    Hope you get bountiful pear harvest in a couple of months.

Thank you for coming by!

