‘Dokudami’ aka fishwort, lizard tail, chameleon plant, heartleaf, or bishop’s weed…

Dokudami...

We have lots of this herb growing quite naturally in our garden…
Called ‘dokudami’ (ドクダミ) in Japanese, derived from its property to ‘suppress pain’…
Tried to look up its name in English…
One source, without offering a name, described it as a ‘bad‐smelling perennial plant of the family Saururaceae’…
Other sources suggested names like fish mint, fish herb, fishwort, lizard tail, chameleon plant, heartleaf, and bishop’s weed…
The other Japanese name for it is ‘juu-yaku’ (十薬), literally meaning ‘ten medicines’…
In other words, it is believed to have multiple medicinal properties…
Taken raw, it does smell of fish and my tastebuds find it to be rather uncompromising…
But sun-dried till brown, it makes a superbly delicious tea… one which I truly love to imbibe especially during the cold winter months…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to ‘Dokudami’ aka fishwort, lizard tail, chameleon plant, heartleaf, or bishop’s weed…

  1. Sho'Nuff says:

    I know this plant as “bishop’s weed” but I didn’t know it is thought to have medicinal properties. I also didn’t know that dried, it would make a tasty tea. You are an absolute treasure trove of learning for me. Thank you!

  2. Lrong says:

    Try it my friend… the tea does taste very good…

  3. mac says:

    This is all new to me, thanks for pointing it out, but I can’t imagine the taste of tea.

  4. The blooms looks like those from begonias… pretty 🙂

  5. Robbie says:

    interesting-you always introduce a new plant to me when I stop by….I really like this photo with the contrast of the leaves and flower-how they move together. robbie:-) p.s. it smells like fish, but makes a tasty tea when dried-…I would like to try this tea!

  6. Mrs. N says:

    This is interesting! Will it grow in limited sun? Do they get big? I tried to grow chamomile last year and I thought I was doing great but then….I noticed that my plants were full of tiny bugs-aphids I think. I was so sad- I had to throw out all the flowers I collected to dry for tea. I don’t know how to keep the bugs off my plants-I really don’t want to use pesticide. How do you do it?

    • Lrong says:

      Dokudami can grow in partial shade… in fact, it grows like a weed… as for the bugs in the chamomile, I would cut the branches and sun-dry them… the bugs will disappear and I would make tea out of the chamomile then… and yes, I do not use pesticide (yet?)… when I see bugs, I hand-pick them if I can…

Thank you for coming by!

