Ume aka Japanese plum…

Ume aka Japanese plum...

This picture is getting ‘old’ as we actually harvested these plums many moons ago…
We must have harvested a ton of these fruits compared to the teeny-meeny harvest we had last year…
My sweeto-haato had her hands full, making preserves sweet and salty, out of them…
And I have been sinking my fangs on them, slowly, a little bit a time…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Ume aka Japanese plum…

  1. mac says:

    Awwww………. wish I have some ume, they don’t grow here.

  2. Sho'Nuff says:

    I MISS ume!! Does your sweeto-haato ever make ume-shu? What a marvelous life you live in your beautiful garden.

  3. Stiletto says:

    You are a lucky guy to have a sweeto-haato who is pretty handy and imaginative in the kitchen besides lots of other talents.

    • Lrong says:

      I am perrenially thanking my lucky stars to have my sweeto haato as my life partner… I have absolutely no complaints about her even though I am not sure if it is likewise from her standpoint with regards to her life partner… 🙂

  4. Norma Chang says:

    Don’t think I have had fresh ume plums, had them pickled and dried.

  5. They make my saliva starts dripping.

  6. these plums are beautiful…how fortunate to have so many this year 🙂

  7. KL says:

    Oh! looks so yumm…are they sweet tasting?

  8. Robbie says:

    I have a dwarf cherry tree in my yard and it has done nothing for the past few years. I planted a plum tree last year and it is filling out, but nothing yet. I did get some apples on my dwarf apple tree. Are those plums like purple ones we get here in the USA or are they different?

    • Lrong says:

      In Japan, we call the purple ones ‘sumomo’ while the orange ones are called ‘ume’… the sumomo (such as Santa Rosa?) can be sweet and a little sourish at the skin area but the ume is almost always sour… we use the ume to make wines and preserves that go very well with a wide variety of Japanese food…

  9. Mrs. N says:

    I made ume jam for the first time this year and if I must say so- it was a hit! Next year I’m making more! MIL makes enough umeshu to get half the town drunk so I don’t make any. We have our supply from her. 😉

    • Lrong says:

      Ume jam is delicious, don’t you think? The folks around you must be lucky to be able taste the jam you made… and you are of course, lucky to have a MIL who can supply you with the umeshu…

Thank you for coming by!

