Potager Y in mid-summer of 2013…

Image

The summer of 2013 so far, at where I live, has been effectively ‘brutal’ on the potager…
The sun has been scorching, pushing up the temperatures to over 38 degrees for days in a row…
Coupled with the lack of rain for weeks now, the water level at the reservoir is fast receeding…
In a few days time, we expect the authorities to announce some drastic measures such as squeezing down the tap source to conserve water…
Under these conditions, I feel reluctant to use the precious water for the plants…
As such, all I can show are a few tomatoes and a lone loofah…
Well, actually tomatoes are doing not too badly…
Once they develop strong roots, I normally do not water them that much, and they keep producing fruits…
They are quite productive this season, and so far, we have harvested about 185 fruits big and small…

Image

For the other plants such as moroheya, malabar spinach, okra, bell peppers, chillies, amaranth, corn, kangkong, pumpkin, bitter gourd, cucumber, eggplant, zucchini, watermelon, basil, among others… in one word, they are on the verge of being scorched dry…
Still I do water them with whatever water I can recycle from the kitchen and the bathroom tub…
The water may be a little bit soapy, but at least, they keep the plants alive for the time being…
I tried to mulch them thickly with dried leaves that I sourced from the hills… but it seems to be too late to have the desired effect…
Next season, I should try to mulch earlier, plus, perhaps I should make use of the bamboo from the hills to construct some kind of structure to provide at least some partial shade from the sun…
The climbing plants (such as cucumbers, long beans, loofa, pumpkin, bitter gourd, etc) can be trained to hook on to the structure to act as covers for the shorter plants like moroheya, amaranths, lettuce, etc…
As it is now, I can’t wait for the temperatures to cool down…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Potager Y in mid-summer of 2013…

  1. Robbie says:

    I am sorry to hear you are having such a difficult water shortage. How are your seasons different than the USA? Does this mean you are in a “drought” there and they put limits on water usage like they do in some states in USA? We had such a horrible summer last year, in 2012. I lost 8 evergreens that were 8 feet tall. I started them when they were knee high. Many of our mums and other perennials plants did not come back this year due to the drought. I sure hope you can keep your stuff watered, ever if is soapy water:-) robbie

    • Lrong says:

      I think the seasons are similar in many ways… to start off, our place is rather semi-arid… so we are rather prone to drought… well, we just have to find ways to work around it, I suppose… hope your mums make a comeback someday…

  2. jeannietay says:

    Those tomatoes look luscious…:)

  3. mac says:

    Lovely tomatoes. Water is gold in our desert climate, living in scorching heat, totally understand your frustration about keeping the plants hydrated.

  4. Diane AZ says:

    Your little tomatoes and lone loofa look nice. Sorry to hear about the water shortage, that would make gardening very difficult! Our summer was hotter than usual and the tomato plants wouldn’t set fruit. Looking forward to cooler temperatures. .. 🙂

  5. Mrs. N says:

    Firstly-I’m on my Ipad so much that commenting becomes difficult just because of the way the IPAD is set up. So, I apologise for not commenting earlier. I do read your blog Lrong.
    This summer here in Japan was almost unbearable wasn’t it? My garden died. It was going well and then we had those few short days in early spring where we drowned. I mean my garden literally was under water. then…the heat exploded and it never let up until a few days ago-but it was weeks too late. Gosh was it ever hot!!! It was over 42 degrees inside our house!

    I’m wondering what kind of winter we will have because it seems like a very early autumn this year. Since when did we ever have momiji turning before Obon? Kyushu is the last on the list to turn colors….usually we watch the color cascading down from Hokkaido. Not this year!

    Hang in there my gardening brother! Your tomatoes look beautiful though. So does the squash.

    • Lrong says:

      Oh dear, 42 degrees in the house… wooh, must have been quite a torture… luckily, my garden did not die on me completely… some plants manage to survive and thanks to the rains today and yesterday, the plants are now smiling… the mornings and evenings are getting a bit cool here but the leaves are not turning colors as yet… am looking forward to seeing those leaves for sure… thank you for the encouragement, my gardening sister!

Thank you for coming by!

