Peppers and chillies survived the drought…

Image

After weeks of drought, the rains finally came…
And my plants were grinning, uncontrollably…
The bell peppers… not very productive thus far…
and the fruits, minuscule no doubt…

Image

This tiny little chilli… commonly grown in my village in Malaysia…
Brought the seeds to Japan and they have adapted well to the climate…
And they are equally fiery and fragrant…
Goes very well with a wide variety of dishes…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Peppers and chillies survived the drought…

  1. Robbie says:

    Great shots. I really like trying different peppers. I saved seeds from my peppers last year from our Midwest drought. We are having a bit of drought this week-90+ and very humid. It hurts the gardens at this time of year. Hope your drought is letting up.

  2. mac says:

    Peppers are pretty drought tolerant, good for them and good for you. My peppers and tomatoes are not ripening still hanging green, it’s a waiting game now, think day time time is too hot and night temp too low, too big of temp swimg for the veggies.

  3. Wonder how does the chilly experience in the winter.

    Wow, so cold!

    It must have shouted.

  4. Bom says:

    The chili looks different to me. Is it very spicy?

  5. Sho'Nuff says:

    So glad to hear that you managed to enjoy at least *some* of nature’s bounty after the terrible drought. And I’m especially glad to hear that your native Malaysian peppers produced. What a treasure those must be. Is it true that your peppers will be that much spicier/fragrant for all of the heat and dry?

    It was such a rainy cool summer here that my chilis and cayenne peppers didn’t come out very hot at all. Cheers!

    • Lrong says:

      Hi there… the rains finally came and the peppers are now growing quite nicely… however the cold is coming in and they might perhaps survive for about one more month at the most…

  6. jeannietay says:

    And you grin when your plant bear you fruits huh lol! I have not seen that species of chilli padi before.

  7. KL says:

    I hope everything is fine with you as you have not updated this blog for a long time. Ah! I love growing fiery pepper. Does it survive the cold and the snow of Japan!?

    • Lrong says:

      Hi KL… unfortunately no… the peppers dry up as the cold comes in… sometimes I transfer a plant or two into a pot and keep it indoors throughout the winter…

Thank you for coming by!

