Pears, eggplants, and Chinese chives…

Image

They say that ‘with practice, you can get better’…
These pears are still small, but they are bigger than those from last year’s…
When I noticed the crows were coming for them, I immediately harvested them all…

Image

Eggplants are such heavy feeders… and they are almost always thirsty…
Luckily, they did not die on me despite the dry spell…
In these autumn days, they are still giving fruits, albeit small…

Image

Chinese chives are such a joy to have in the potager…
They need very little care…
And given time, they keep cropping up after you harvest them… 
My sweeto-haato sometimes just chop them into small pieces, mix them up with soy sauce and a little sesame oil…
Urmmm, nice and simple…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pears, eggplants, and Chinese chives…

  1. mac says:

    Nice harvest, the pears look sweet, did the drought made eggplants bitter?

  2. Robbie says:

    I have a pear tree in our potager and I look forward to eating them fresh from the garden every september( I purchased two dwarf for next year , but they won’t be here until spring)……nothing like a fresh pear….yours look lovely. I feel once you eat a pear from your own yard, you never can eat one from the strore they are just AWFUL! Love the photos of your vegetables, and that purple on those egg plant is just vibrant….:-)

    • Lrong says:

      You are right about the pears from the garden… once we tasted that, ooh, we try to stay away from the ones in the stores… and thank you for your kind comment on the photos…

  3. Diana Studer says:

    garlic chives added some colour to our curry last night.

  4. jeannietay says:

    hmmm….I really envy you for having such a wonderful potager…those pears looks juicy even though small…you even have egg plants!

  5. Mrs. N says:

    Great fruits and veggies! I never had any eggplant-the plants themselves got almost as big as the house! Not one eggplant though! lol. In a week or so I’m going to go out and start a bit of rearranging out in my teeny plot. Any suggestions for a partial sun plot? I’m thinking maybe more herbs but then again…maybe just flowers. I’m still not sure. The potatoes did well though-and beans-they did well also.

    • Lrong says:

      Funny that you could not get your eggplant to bear fruit… they need the full sun, I’d think… good to hear that your potatoes and beans did well…

  6. Sho'Nuff says:

    Tiny eggplants are the best. They don’t have time to grow bitter. Americans tend to grow huge, yucky, bitter eggplants. I didn’t learn to love them until I lived in Japan. Congratulations on your lovely harvest. You must be a fine gardener to have such success despite the summer drought.

Thank you for coming by!

