Green tomato chutney…

Image

With the cold weather encroaching, decided to harvest all the tomato fruits, green as they were…
And what else, but to make chutney out of them…

Image

First, had them washed, and cut up into pieces…
Then, put them into the Dutch oven, along with some apples, raisins, and a concoction prepared by my sweeto-haato, comprising of a little sugar, salt, vinegar, and a mixture of spices… 

Image

Let the stuff boiled away for a few hours, outdoors, as I worked in the potager…
The end product is not very ‘photogenic’, being dark brown in color, but the taste is good…
Am slowly enjoying it as a condiment with a variety of dishes…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Green tomato chutney…

  1. Robbie says:

    YUM…and so pretty…I love it with crackers or warm bread! You inspire me to make some n ext year with my tomatoes….:-)

  2. jeannietay says:

    Love the sweet, salty and sour taste of chutney very much…..salivating just thinking about it.

  3. Stiletto says:

    It actually look very appetising and would certainly made a nice accompaniment to our sambals and curries. Please send some over 😉

  4. It seems to taste so good, after reading your words, and the comments.

  5. Diana Studer says:

    cheese and chutney sandwiches here please. Your chutney will be infused with all the effort and magic of your garden.

  6. Sho'Nuff says:

    You should be aware that I have nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award. You can find instructions on how to accept the nomination on my blog http://shonufforganics.com/

    Cheers!

Thank you for coming by!

