Japanese yam aka ‘jinenjo’…

This is one vegetable that I seldom see being sold at the stores… 
Image
The Japanese folks call it ‘jinenjo’ 自然芋, literally meaning ‘natural yam’…
In the world of the English Language, simply ‘Japanese yam’…
This is only from one plant…
The digging is quite a pain, and the yam breaks quite easily…

Image
The other type that I grow is this plain straight specie…
This type is commonly sold in the stores…
It is easier to dig but the root can go quite deep, up to a meter or more… Image
The way we eat the yam is, yes, raw…
My missus peels the skin off and ‘grates’ the yam into a paste and we take with soba noodles…
The taste is very good… thick, refreshing, and filling…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Japanese yam aka ‘jinenjo’…

  1. Robbie says:

    I think when you retire from teaching you should start your own food growing/food blog/or write a book with your photes and stories about your local food! You and your missus make me hungry + so eager to learn about what you are growing + how you are fixing it…I find pictures of food SOOO HARD…and you make it look like a breeze-lol-but it is not! Forgot to mention your flower pictures are stunning too + you can fit them in there too:-)

    • Lrong says:

      Good idea, Robbie… if I were to do it, I’d take the easy way out and put lots of photos with very little prose… I am too lazy to write… and you are too kind!

      • Robbie says:

        okay…I am with you on the “put lots of photos” with very little prose, so I get that…but don’t you think some things are just too “wordy” anyway-lol..you get it across in fewer words and the photos do the talking!:-) My kinda book:-)

  2. mac says:

    Love love love mountain yam, it costs about US $7 per lb here, I buy it whenever there’s fresh shipment, but haven’t try to grate it and eat raw.

  3. Diane AZ says:

    How interesting, a yam that can be eaten raw! The dish looks beautiful as prepared by your missus and photographed by you..

  4. Andrea says:

    I’ve been here to before but since the comments are not here, that means i can’t get through. Now, i tried 5X here wonder if it will push through, maybe wordpress and blogger have some rifts. I was able to comment in your other blog though. This is just a test. Happy New Year, haven’t greeted you yet, haha!

    • Andrea says:

      Oh it went thru after 6X, very good, wonder what’s happening. The details below regarding me always fold up and i can’t see the “post comment” part. Regarding that yam, we have a root crop here which my late father said is eaten by Japanese during the Occupation, but we don’t eat it, as it needs special processing before eating.

    • Lrong says:

      Happy belated new year to you too… yes, perhaps there is something going on between wordpress and blogger that we do not know…

  5. KL says:

    The food-picture looks delicious. Is that white think really that yam grate or youghurt? How does she make it so yoghurty-like? Please share the recipe. Do you grow Daikon? I love eating raw daikon soaked in lemon and honey water. I think I am going to grow some this year.

    • Lrong says:

      The white thing was the yam grate… my missus uses a very simple ‘grater’ and she does it by hand… the ‘grater’ is commonly sold in Japan…
      And yes, I grow daikon… we enjoy eating them in soups or lightly pickled in vinegar… have not tried it soaked in lemon and honey water…

  6. Norma Chang says:

    Thanks for introducing me to this Japanese yam, now that I know about it and how to prepare it will look for it next time I go to the Asian market.

  7. I have “traditional” yam plants in my little garden.
    Those we used to buy in the market.
    Happy 马年。马上快乐。

Thank you for coming by!

