Sakura blooms, kangkong sprout, carrot harvest…

Image
Years ago, when we did not have our own property, I had dreamed of the day when we can decorate our home with flowers from our own garden…
This day, my sweeto-haato did just that, putting together a concoction of ‘shidare sakura’ (‘weeping’ sakura), ‘yama buki’ (Japanese kerria), and a bunch of young leaves from the ‘momiji’ (Japanese maple tree)…
I thought the arrangement looked very pretty while she was being humble about it…
Image
This is a close-up of the ‘shidare’ sakura…
I really like its pinkish shade…

Image
Each spring, I position myself on the east side of our house to capture this shot…
The best time to shoot from this angle is in the morning, when the sun is just coming up…

Image
At this time of the year, I also busy myself to start germinating the seeds…
The ‘kangkong’ or water spinach or water convolvulus (what a mouthful of a word) is sprouting beautifully…
Image
Also harvested the carrots…
They were rather mini-sized…
Could this be the result of my transplanting them when they small? 
Image
Ok, so the carrots were tiny…
No problem, as we enjoyed eating the carrot leaves just as much…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sakura blooms, kangkong sprout, carrot harvest…

  1. Robbie says:

    So lovely:-) My husband and I dreamed the same thing:-) Your pictures are stunning as usual + your “sweeto-haato” is truly gifted in picking just the right flowers to put together! Are you having spring right now? I am busy with small seedlings,too. The daffodils are blooming right now + stuff is greening up, but the fruit trees + bushes are just starting to bud. It has been a long winter!

    • Lrong says:

      Thank you for your kind comments, Robbie… yes, we are into spring now although I shall wait for a few more days before I transplant the seedlings out in the field… good to hear that your daffodils are blooming now and that the others are greening up…

  2. mac says:

    Beautiful photos as always. Kangkong is one of the veg I have trouble with, maybe our climate is too hot and arid. It’s illegal to sell kangkong seeds and vegetable in our region, I’ll have to fly to California to my fix.

    • Lrong says:

      Thank you mac… illegal to grow kangkong at your area? Wooh, this is new to me… and your having to fly to California for your kangkong fix… 🙂

      • mac says:

        Yes, it’s illegal to grow kangkong in our desert environment due to water issues, another issue is the vegetable is invasive, the roots block up water channels and irregation systems.

  3. malar says:

    What a lovely flower arrangement! You got very good harvest fresh from garden!

  4. Diana KKMG says:

    Kireiiiii okusan ni homettekudasai!

    Each year looking forward to see your beautiful blooming sakura tree from that angle.
    A treat for us :).

    • Lrong says:

      Thank you Diana! Will certainly convey your kind message to my missus… and am very happy to hear your comment on the photo taken from that particular angle…

  5. Diana Studer says:

    how do you use carrot leaves? I’ve seen that mentioned before, but the recipe didn’t stick in my mind

    • Lrong says:

      My missus blanched the leaves, and mixed them up with sesame seeds… the leaves can also be chopped up finely and mixed with potato salad…

Thank you for coming by!

