Potager Y in June 2014…

Been ‘ignoring’ my blogging for a while now…
Too many hobbies competing for the same time slots…
There is so much to do in the potager…
And when I am not in the potager, I find myself unable to keep my hands off the shakuhachi

Image
Ok, enough of ‘excuses’…
And yes, thank god, the potager is doing fine…
I had planted only one zucchini seedling and discovered that the male and female flowers bloom at different days…
After seeing some baby zucchinis dried out, I decided to experiment…
I cut the male flower and kept it in the fridge…
The following day, when the female flower bloomed, zoooosh, I made a dash for the male flower…
And finally harvested the first fruit, which tipped the scale at 700 grams…
Now, I wonder how much would that tomato weigh…

Image
The ‘yomogi’ or mug-wort plant grows naturally all over our property…
They are like weeds, but I really cherish making tea out of them…
Each year around this time, I harvest them and have them dried, hanging in partial shade…

Image
This is how it looks like after drying…
To brew yomogi tea, I just need to put hot boiling water in it, and the taste is really good…
The yomogi contains some essential oils and has featured well in East Asian cuisine and traditional medicinal practices…

Image
Another ‘weed’ that grows profusely in our property is the Japanese ‘dokudami’, literally translating into ‘poison blocking plant’…
Taken fresh, it emits a rather ‘fishy’ smell, and I cannot say I enjoy consuming it this way…
Sun-dried, it transforms into a lovely tea…

Image
Permit me to push this medicinal-herb tea talk a little further…
I am experimenting with sun-dried mulberry leaf tea…
For three years in a row, the mulberry fruits were infected with some kind of fungus, deeming the fruits inedible…
So, I said, why not try the leaves?
I have drank the tea a few times now, and I am beginning to like the taste of it…

Image
Alright, now for something fresh and green-looking…
The chard is really such a pretty vegetable to look at, don’t you think?
This vegetable is a joy to plant, to look at, as well as to eat…
I do not grow mustard greens in the summer season as they get attacked by pests easily…
But the chard in summer had not been affected by such pests as far as I know…

Image
And finally, a shot of some ‘Andean’ potatoes…
(Hey you, aren’t all potatoes from the Andes?)
Reddish skin, yellowish flesh… but my sweeto-haato said she still prefers the Japanese strain ‘Dan-shaku’ to the ‘original’ Andean one…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Potager Y in June 2014…

  1. mac says:

    That’s a perfect looking toMAto, never had the teas you described, don’t know anything about the Dan-shaku potato either, how’s the texture and taste, have a photo to share?

  2. jeannietay says:

    That zucchini is big indeed! I am into puer tea and drink it regularly…interesting to know how you dry your own tea leaves out of so many different plants or “weeds” 😀

    • Lrong says:

      It is actually not an understatement to say that I do not need to buy any tea from the store… 😉
      I enjoy making my own teas very much…

  3. malar says:

    That’s quiet big zucchini actually! The vegetables looks like doing well! The tea must taste very good with good aroma too!

  4. Robbie says:

    oh my , very interesting…have to make a comment about being distracted…I am too!

Thank you for coming by!

