Blueberries, plums, shiso, among others…

DSC_0011a

The three blueberry plants this year are giving us lots of fruit…
Am feeling so blissful, to be able to eat these lovely fruits from our own garden… 

DSC_0028a
In addition to blueberries, our plums are also giving us a bumper harvest this year…
All in all, I estimated we harvested about 200 plums…
They are good to eat fresh, and my sweeto haato is also making some preserves out of them…

DSC_0041a
And what would a vegetable garden be without the tomato…
This medium-sized ‘Momo taro’ is a very popular breed in Japan…

DSC_0050a
And the bitter gourd too, making its appearance…
We just love everything about this plant…
The pretty leaves, the cute little yellow flowers, and the fruits, of course…  

DSC_0058a
We have three types of shiso (perilla) in our potager…
All three have adapted well and are self-seeding…
This one is the ‘classic’ Japanese shiso, the one that goes well with your sashimi…

DSC_0071a
This red shiso is used to season our ume plums…
Sometimes, in the heat of summer, I make a drink with them… nice color, nice taste…  

DSC_0075aa

This is ‘ego-ma’ shiso…
It has a faint sesame flavor to it, and is apparently more popular in Korea…
The underside of the leaf is purplish…
We take is raw, with a wide range of dishes…
DSC_0064aMalabar spinach is another vegetable that self-seeds well in our potager…
I enjoy eating their fleshy leaves in soups…
DSC_0080a
Last autumn, I planted ten dill plants…
Eight survived, and we had lots to eat with our cheese toast at breakfast…

DSC_0086a
Moroheya is growing so well this year too…
Their leaves are really very tasty in soups…
Definitely one of my favorite summer vegetables…

DSC_0089a
I plant several types of flowers as companions for the vegetables…
Of these, I find myself really attracted to the cosmos although I cherish the zinnias and marigolds just as much…
To me, the cosmos are just so ‘autumnish’, and this somewhat hits a nerve in my system, I think…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Blueberries, plums, shiso, among others…

  1. Mrs. N says:

    Such lovely photos! Wonderful food!!! Our weather has been SO rainy and cool this summer- how about you? We have not even heard the semi sing yet.

  2. Robbie says:

    Hi Lrong! I am so glad you posted about Moroheya:-) I planted your seed and was observing it in the garden today. I wanted to ask you if it has fine threads at the head of the plant? How do I cook it? All your seed did wonderfully + I am so excited to try it this year, but I need to know how do I use it? Do I use it like spinach in my recipes? What type of soup does your misses use?
    Sorry, a lot of questions, I just never have eat or grown this before. It is a lovely plant. It is about a food tall, do I harvest it now?
    Your harvest looks beautiful, plums, I envy those! My plum tree ( dwarf) was knocked over this year by a strong wind. I never did get any plums. I love my red shiso, it reseeds all over, so I never have to plant it again…do you have any suggestions for cooking with thtat ?

    I am full of a lot of questions! 🙂 Happy gardening:-)

    • Lrong says:

      Hi Robbie… it is good to hear that your moroheya is doing well… yes, there are some fine strands sticking around the crown area…
      When you harvest it, just pick the delicious-looking leaves…

      Yes, you can use it as you do spinach…
      My wife cooks it in a very simple way…

      Ingredients
      olive oil
      a clove of garlic, chopped
      a little salt
      a bunch of moroheya leaves, finely chopped up

      Fry chopped garlic until its color turns golden, and smells aromatic
      Add water (you can use consomme soup if you like), bring to boil
      Add salt
      Add moroheya leaves
      Stir gently to thicken it
      Just as the soup is about to boil, turn off heat
      We do this to maintain the ‘slimy’ quality of the moroheya as I like it that way…
      If you do not fancy the sliminess, you can continue to bring the soup to a boil
      In this case, the leaves in the soup will probably change color from green to yellow
      I find this soup is best consumed immediately after cooking

      As for the red shiso, we normally just use it to make a drink for the summer season… we do not really use if for cooking…

      • Robbie says:

        I will let you know how it goes:-) What kind of drink do you make shiso out of? It sows all over my yard now + I love the beautiful leaves!

      • Lrong says:

        Yes, the color of the leaves are really pretty…

        To make the drink, I sun-dry the red shiso first… then, I just put them in a large pot and bring them to a boil… I take the drink chilled, sugarless…

      • Robbie says:

        I will be trying that too:-) I amde a hot tea once, but never thought to make a chilled tea:-)

  3. Robbie says:

    eaten + foot tall…sorry did not proof read…heading to bed early, m son was here for visit + we stayed up too late last night. My husband + I are empty nesters, not use to late nights-lol

  4. malar says:

    That’s very good amount of vegetables. Fresh too from the garden! Malabar spinash is selfseeding? That’s great ! I’m trying hard to get the seeds here…..

  5. WOW, I am practically drooling over your harvest!
    You have such wonderful fruits and veggies in your garden. 200 Plums!! wow!!
    Our weather here is too hot with not a drop of rain for the past few weeks. Most of the plants are not doing well at all! I have been slacking in my garden due to the hot weather. 😦

    • Lrong says:

      Let us just say that I chose the ‘proper’ pictures… 🙂
      The weather in Japan there days hover around 35 to 37 degrees… and no rain…
      I am away from my garden for two weeks now, and when I return in September, I predict all the plants would be conked out…

  6. Lily Chan says:

    Hi Lrong,

    I want to ask whether the blueberries and plum can be grown in Malaysia?

    • Lrong says:

      Hello Lily… good morning from Japan… to be honest, am not so sure… we might be able to grow it in the highlands in Msia… however, the blueberries go with the seasons and the accompanying temperature changes (which might be absent in our highlands)… the leaves turn yellow/orange in autumn, they drop in winter, and come spring, the flowers appear followed by sprouting young leaves…

Thank you for coming by!

