Navel orange, lime, shiro-na, sweet potatoes…

DSC_0257a

Planted a navel orange tree many years ago…
Last year, it began to fruit…
Think I harvested about 5 fruits then…
This year? One precious, single fruit… 🙂

DSC_0266a

Also planted this lime tree at the same time…
It took about seven years to begin fruiting seriously…
And we were rewarded with over 20 of these fruits…

DSC_0273a

I tried planting ‘shiro-na’ this autumn…
It grows pretty fast, but is quite prone to pests…
The taste is nice, stir-fried…

DSC_0961a

Hmmm, this is not a ‘harvest’ per se…
It is just the leaf of the Japanese yama-imo…
I like its heart shape though… and the shades of yellow as it reacted to the cold weather…

DSC_0968a

Our sweet potatoes did okay this season…
I left it out a little bit too long, resulting in some cracks on the skin…

DSC_0979a

Luckily, the taste was as good as before…
Really look forward to growing more of this goodie next season…
Happy holiday season to y’all…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Navel orange, lime, shiro-na, sweet potatoes…

  1. narf77 says:

    What a lovely and most colourful post Lrong. Thank you for sharing your gardening progress with us all. I am in the process of trying to work out how to grow sweet potatoes here on Serendipity Farm as I love them. I think 2015 is going to be a really interesting year in the garden for us all. I hope you have a really great new year and that all of your gardening endeavours fall into place and start to give you back what you want from them 🙂

  2. malar says:

    That’s really precious orange indeed! Hope you have more fruits to harvest next year! 😉

  3. Robbie says:

    Hi Lrong:-)
    I finally got over here to make a comment + enjoy your beautiful photos! I know you are busy + do drop by to see what you are up to in your garden. Wow, lovely citrus fruit, I don’t have any growing in my yard or inside. My friend has a little lime tree she took in from outside which has some blossoms. I would not mind trying it and it is something on my list:-)
    We have below zero weather and a lot of snow finally after a quiet start to winter. I believe winter is here for the long haul….spring is around the corner for the days are getting longer!
    I grew some purple sweet potatoes this year and I tried to cure them inside. They were a lovely plant in the garden, but I did not have them in the right container. It was biodegradable ( what was I thinking) and they shot their roots right through wandering here and there-lol. I did saute some with onions and they were yummy:-)
    I will try to do better next year. Happy New Year + Happy Gardening to you and yours for 2015:-)

    • Lrong says:

      Hi Robbie… Purple sweet potatoes adds a lovely color to the dishes… I did not grow them last season… I think I should be having them again in my garden this coming season…

      • Robbie says:

        I grew some out last year but I put them in some biodegradable containers and they out grew the container-LOL I got some sweet potatoes but not enough. Keep me posted:-) I would love to see your photos of purple sweet potatoes!
        I am growing a purple peruvian fingerling which is pretty ,too. It is small and ideal for my growing space:-) A critter ate mine last year. I am putting them closer to my house this year! My dog will get protect them:-)

Thank you for coming by!

