Loquats, wineberries, strawberries, fava beans…

DSC_0127a
June is the season for loquat-harvesting…
The fruits were so juicy and sweet… hmmmm…
Normally, I need to reduce (in other words, ‘sacrifice’) the number of fruits, from up to about twenty fruits in a bunch to just two fruits…
Otherwise, the fruits will not be able to become big…
I then have to wrap them up with paper bags so as to prevent fruit flies from coming at them…
All was fine, except that the crows started harvesting them earlier than the farmer did…
The bounty taken by the crows was substantial… grrrr…
Next season for sure, I am going to put a net over the fruits…

DSC_0033a
The strawberries did pretty well but I made the mistake of crowding too many plants in the patch…
Result of the over-crowding? Fewer fruits… grrrr…
Next season, I promise not to be too greedy… in fact, I have already thinned out the plants…
Anyway, the taste of our strawberries is, I’d say, ‘concentrated’… and the flesh, firm…

DSC_0040a
Our Japanese wine berries provided a good harvest this season…
Was so happy to be able to enjoy these fruits with minimum maintenance…
Eaten frozen, with yogurt, is simply heavenly…

DSC_0094a
And finally, the fava beans turned out very well too…
We had a lot to eat, and the crows did not come for them… yippee…
I have quite a bit of them sun-dried too, and am wondering how we should cook them…

DSC_0113a
Doesn’t this bean look lovely?

Oh yes, as the fava bean plants were growing, we ate the young leaves too…
They tasted good, quite a bit like spinach…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Loquats, wineberries, strawberries, fava beans…

  1. narf77 says:

    I would imagine that the crows were too full of loquats to want to have any of your fava beans Lrong ;). I have 3 little loquat plants growing in our garden. I am going to plant lots more as they really are hardy and once they get past the stage where the wallabies can eat their leaves (not many leaves left on one of my poor little plants at the moment) they should do really well on Serendipity Farm. I love the look of wineberries. I don’t think that we can get them here but it is great to read about fruits from other countries and how you use them. Thank you for a lovely post Lrong. I hope that your summer is going really well. It looks like the garden part is certainly under control (apart from the crows that is 😉 )

    • Lrong says:

      Am glad to know that we do not have to deal with wallabies here… 🙂
      Anyway, hope your loquat plants grow well… wineberries are really a joy to have in the garden… we are having the rainy season now and my plants are happy!

  2. Ahhh Lrong…we live and we learn…gardening is a constant battle of wits with those who want the fruits of our labors 🙂

  3. Robbie says:

    oh my I love this post, but always spend time admiring your macro shots! I love how you get up close and focus on the details.LOVE them.
    Crowded strawberries, hmmm..I have to say I am guilty of that in my garden. I always stuff things too close. I need more space! I am not moving for I can’t even take care of what we have and the weeds this year are taking over:-) But rather have many weeds than a drought:-)

    • Lrong says:

      Hi Robbie… Talking about weeds… oooh, they are all over my garden… then again, as you said, weeds are better than drought…

  4. mac says:

    Beautiful photos as usual, I have not eaten loquat in ages!

  5. Norma Chang says:

    I too have not had fresh loquat in years. The wineberries are so beautiful and is low maintenance, love that. Wonder if it will grow where I live, need to learn more.

  6. Such pretty pictures!!!! 🙂

    thelemonandjar.com

  7. Alice says:

    Sorry, the deadline for the Sony photo open competition is Jan 5, 2016. Jan 12, which is for professionals only. Cepat enter!

Thank you for coming by!

