Radish: the fresh and the preserved…

What can you do in the garden when the temperature shoots up to 36 degrees?
Under this condition, it does not take five minutes to have my body bathing in sweat… not to mention the risk of being overtaken by over-heating and fainting spells…

DSC_0334a

Ok, this story should have been posted many moons ago, but what do you do when you have to harvest all your radish crop in one go?

DSC_0322a
First, you would probably select the most good looking one for immediate cooking…

DSC_0351a
Then, for the rest, you clean them, slice them up, and hang them up to sun-dry…

DSC_0355a

A Japanese elderly lady had advised me to cut them up ‘octopus-style’…

DSC_0362a

Basically, I just cut the radish into four parts, while leaving the top part untouched to facilitate easy hanging…

DSC_0003a

After a few iterations of drying them under the sun, this is how they look like… my ‘sweeto-haato’ can then take her time to cook them (normally boiled with tofu) for me…

And just like the fresh/dried shiitake mushroom (which I do not grow), the dried ones give a really very concentrated ‘radish’ flavor…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Radish: the fresh and the preserved…

  1. Beautiful radishes Lrong…I always forget that radishes have more uses than being thrown in a salad 🙂 Hope you and your lady are doing well…it has been very wet here this summer and the only thing I’ve managed to grow is Purslane. I’ve also recently discovered that purslane can be eaten…however I haven’t tried any…yet 🙂 I’m going to ask my local intelligent person before I eat something I’m not sure about 🙂

  2. narf77 says:

    Thank you for this new way to save radishes Lrong. I will be trying this later on in the year when our radishes start to overwhelm me. I am also going to make kimchi with them 🙂

  3. malar says:

    Wow! That’s really fresh looking radish! So this is how radish are sun dried! 😉

  4. mac says:

    Thanks for showing how you preserve the whole radish the easy way, I have been cutting them up, salted, and then dried. I would rather have them unsalted and keep the leaves as well.

  5. Robbie says:

    OH WOW! Great idea to dry them, never knew you could do that-I need to next year. I have to tell you-your captures of the radish are amazing-just beautiful! You make vegetables an art piece! Love your photos:-) Interesting to slice them like an octopus-good idea;-)

    • Lrong says:

      Hi Robbie… thanks for your comment… you are too kind… am happy to know that the post gave you some ideas on how to handle the radish harvest…

  6. KL says:

    Wow! This is very interesting to know. I wish I knew before so that so many radishes were not going to be thrown away. Thanks for this great tip.

Thank you for coming by!

