Chestnuts, blueberries, chick peas, asparagus, among others…

DSC_0329a
The chestnut tree gave us a bountiful harvest this year…

DSC_0326a
All in all, there were over 50 chestnuts and we had a good time ‘gnawing’ on them…

DSC_0320a
The corn did not do so well… too many pests… might give corn a pass next season…

DSC_0274a
Cucumbers did pretty well… until the wild boars came to ransack our sweet potatoes, killing the cucumbers at the same time…

DSC_0268aa
Tomatoes did super well… love the tomato plants very much for their productivity… and taste, of course…

DSC_0266a
Blueberries also did exceptionally well… must be the fertilizer and the pine leaves that I fed them prior to their flowering…

DSC_0206a
Eggplants did so-so… could be better… next season, revenge on my mind…

DSC_0201a
Malabar spinach… the red and the green… both did very well… and all of the plants were self-seeding… plus, no maintenance at all… we just munched and munched… and there is still more in the garden…

DSC_0169a
Due to my carelessness, I killed the two asparagus plants I had… then, just for the fun of it, tried to grow new plants from seeds… took a long time to germinate… luckily, have several pots that did well… looking forward to seeing them grow…

DSC_0155a
Chick peas… ooh… tried growing them for three seasons in a row… no cigar… somehow,  the plants were consistently fragile, sickly… and the harvests? Consistently miserable, to say the least… next season, am thinking to give this experiment a pass too…

DSC_0021a
Looks pretty eh? Did not grow this fruit… think it is some sort of wild fig… this one is good for picture taking, but not good for the tongue… there are numerous such plants in our property… all wild… and some are really sweet and flavorful… but, they are more blackish in color, and not so good as photo subjects…

To end this post, I must note that the wild boars managed to sneak into our potager through a small opening in our neighbor’s garden… the boars made a clean sweep on our sweet potatoes… I planted the cucumbers alongside the sweet potatoes, so they were killed off too…

Two days after that tragedy, it was the turn of the raccoons… they came for the peanuts… again, it was a clean sweep…

I slapped my forehead… but I should be happy to know that I had made two contributions to the animal kingdom…  and that the animals must have found our produce ‘tasty’ enough for their taste buds… quite a ‘compliment’, don’t you think?

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chestnuts, blueberries, chick peas, asparagus, among others…

  1. narf77 says:

    You have boars and raccoons and we have wallabies and possums. I am thinking that the animals have the advantage over we gardeners but we have optimism and that has to count for something. I, too, am going to give corn a miss this year. Those wild figs are very interesting looking. I am going to trial chia, amaranth (leaf and grain) and quinoa this year. Got to mess about with interesting things as you just never know what will grow well till you try it. Cheers for another lovely post. I especially love the chestnuts. I have some small chestnut trees that I grew from seed. They were very easy to grow but not so easy to work out where to plant them so that they have the best chances to grow. Cheers for another interesting and informative post Lrong 🙂

    • Lrong says:

      Hello narf77… thank you so much for coming by… I took a look at you blog and found your writing to be a joy to read… Fighting off the wallabies and possums must be quite a task, I imagine… in the meantime, I really have to think of a way to handle the boars here…

      • narf77 says:

        Can’t you eat the boars? I am sure that they would taste a LOT better than possums and wallabies and as they are stuffed full of your wonderful vegetables they should taste equally wonderful Lrong ;). Thank you for visiting my blog 🙂

  2. malar says:

    Pest comes in all kind of shapes and names. I have monkeys here! Anyway the harvest look good! Hope you harvest more vegetables next season! 😉

  3. Robbie says:

    OH MY_beautiful photos-wow-I missed this post and just wanted you to know…beautiful and how I love your photos!!!! Happy 2016:-)

Thank you for coming by!

