Harvests from late autumn 2015

DSC_0127a

Obviously been goofing off again, for too long from blogging… 🙂
Anyway, here’s yours truly, feeling good at the potager…

DSC_0046a

If you eat loquats, keep the seeds…
Our loquat trees give us very good fruits, and seeds too…
Over the years of trial and error, I have learned to sun dry the seeds only up to a certain extent…
I then have my ‘sweeto-haato’ put them into the rice cooker and cooked them together with (the brown) rice…
They apparently have a lot of medicinal qualities but I eat them anyway because they taste great…

DSC_0574a

I called these ‘peanut pumpkin’ because of its shape…
And I grow them because their leaves have very fine hairy spikes that protect themselves against those leaf-chewing pests…
And yes, they taste great too…
This season was a super-super bumper harvest…
I managed to harvest about 65 of these pumpkins…
The large ones weighed about a kilo and half, while the few smaller ones, about 300 to 400 grams…
It is pumpkin day-in and day-out for us, and shall be so for some time to come…

DSC_0588a

This Ebisu pumpkin was from a self-seeded plant…
I only had to train it up for it to start climbing, and did not do anything else…
Weighed about 2 kilos…

DSC_0593a

Limes… oooh, another bumper harvest this year…
My ‘sweeto haaato’ is making good use of them to spruce up her drinks, and of course, also for cooking…

DSC_0360a

Gingers… ahh… finally, success this season after an initial not-so-successful attempt…
It feels marvelous, really, to be able to harvest the rhizome…

DSC_0102a

This thing about the loofah…
Our two plants gave us lots of fruits to eat…
On top of that, some of the fruits even had flowers on them…
Was quite fascinated as I am not aware of any other fruit that can ‘bear’ flowers…

DSC_0430a

And finally, some flowers to seal the post…
Zinnias are a perennial feature in our garden…
Every spring, they begin to make their appearance and stay on till late autumn…

DSC_0364a

The same goes for cosmos… they self-seed too…
I particularly like this specie that has a distinct ‘boundary’ on the petals…

DSC_0389a

The self-seeding process somehow results mainly in flowers having pink shades…
Not to say that I am complaining…  🙂

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Harvests from late autumn 2015

  1. narf77 says:

    I might have to plant some zinnias as they are beautiful Lrong. Love your pumpkin harvest. I eat pumpkin most days and it is one of my favourite vegetable/fruits. I didn’t know that Loofah gourds had flowers either. I have some seed. Might have to grow some. A lovely sunny post. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  2. Hello, good to see you in your Potager and to see your bountiful harvest. Your photos are pretty amazing too 🙂

  3. malar says:

    that’s young looking farmer! 😉
    65 pumkins? That’s a lot! 1 kilo? wow! I guess you had good harvest this year! 😉

  4. Mrs. N says:

    Sheesh- you and your goofing off… Lol! I’ll bet you sit in your kabocha field and play shakuhachi – that’s why you had so many! Great harvest!

  5. Mrs. N says:

    P.s. My mom used to sing to her plants… All I can say is they grew like crazy!

  6. seniorhiker says:

    You have a wonderful green thumb. I wish I could get you to help with our roses.

  7. Came by to see how you are 🙂 happy 2016 🙂

Thank you for coming by!

