Carrots, loads of it… and Chayote germinating…

Whoopeee… hope every one is enjoying the early spring winds and feeling excited about the upcoming growing season (for those living in the northern hemisphere, that is)…

A lot of things had been happening in my life… some happy and pleasant, some rather heart-breaking…

But life goes on… and yes, had disappeared literally from the blogging world, but still, am happy to know that the blog does get visitors once in a while…

DSC_1090a

Anyway, the potager is fine and producing, as ever…
Had a bountiful harvest of carrots…
Sooo much of them… think I must have done something right? 🙂

DSC_1120

I am of the opinion that carrots rank among the most tasty of all home-grown vegetables…
Of course, all home-grown vegetables are lovely to eat, but carrots… hmmm, they are in a class of their own…

DSC_1094a

And potatoes… hmmm, another perennial member of the potager…
My ‘sweeto-haato’  uses them in curries, salads, Japanese ‘oden’, and sometimes, just plain pan-fried in light olive oil…
Anyhow, they taste superb…

DSC_1111a

And yes, this year as well, the radish did extremely well…
There were just too much for us to catch up (eating)…
As in last year, had them dried up to preserve for future cooking…

DSC_1103a

Am really excited with the prospect of growing this ‘chayote’…
I first got to know about this vegetable in Chiang Mai where the locals use the tender shoots as stir-fries…
I was really tempted  to smuggle one or two back to Japan…
But luckily, we have them in Japan too, and I just had to grab these two as soon as I saw them…

According to Wikipedia, they belong to the cucumber family and is native to ‘Meso-america’…
It is a climber, and apparently, all parts of the plant can be eaten… the leaves, the flowers, the fruit, the seed, and even the tuber…
I would like to use the tender shoots as the Thais do…

And isn’t it amazing that the roots and the shoot just sprout out from the fruit?
I can’t wait for the temperatures to rise…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Carrots, loads of it… and Chayote germinating…

  1. narf7 says:

    Hi Lrong. It’s good to see you back in the blogging world for a post. Those carrots are spectacular. Choko’s are excellent plants. My mother used to grow them when I was a child. You can use the fruit to bulk out the flavours in jam etc. as it hasn’t got a lot of flavour itself. They are also tasty braised.

  2. malar says:

    Welcome back to blogging world! The carrots harvest is excellent! They look so juicy! You have good harvest of radish too!
    Happy Spring & Happy gardening!

  3. So happy to “see” you back…the carrots are incredible, as is everything you grow 🙂 Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  4. Mrs. N says:

    I wonder when I will get the growing season down….and I was about to plant carrots. Gah. yours look lovely!

  5. Lili says:

    So happy to see that you are back! Hope everything will turn out well for your family. Beautiful photos and writing as usual 🙂 I love carrots too- they are so healthy and delicious raw or cooked.

  6. Diana Studer says:

    I hope that you and your sweetheart are well.

    • Lrong says:

      Hi Diana… my, thank you very much for your kind words… and thank god, both my suweeto haato and I are doing well… hope you and your loved ones are doing well too… 🙂

  7. Andrea says:

    Hi Lrong, those are lovely shots. We also use the young shoots and stems including the young leaves as vegetables. I actually love it.

    Here is my reply to your comment in my post: Hi Lrong, i am glad you surfaced again here, and that you are still active in blogging. Yes five months is too long for us, and despite the start of the rainy season in June, rains are not yet coming like we used to during rainy seasons. Farmers planted after the first heavy rains, but moisture in the soil is just enough to germinate them, a good rain follow-up did not materialize as expected.

Thank you for coming by!

