Unripe strawberries = chutney

Due to the nature of my job, I sometimes have to go for business trips abroad…
Which means, my garden will be left somewhat unattended…

dsc_1349a

Had been struggling for the past few seasons with how to ‘properly’ grow strawberries…
Think I finally got the hang of it…
Come summer 2016, fruits were aplenty…
But just then, that two-week long business trip came in the way…

dsc_1356a

So what to do?
It would be a shame to have the fruits ripening only to be eaten by sow-bugs…
Decided to play around, processing the unripe fruits…

p5070003a

And into the Dutch oven the fruits went in…
Dressed up with some experimental spices, and oh, what a beauty it turned out to be…

p5080006a

Had them stored in glass jars, and into the refrigerator they went…
My ‘sweeto-haato’ and I took our sweet time to slowly relish the final product…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Unripe strawberries = chutney

  1. Norma Chang says:

    What a wonderfully creative idea, will you be posting the recipe?

  2. So wonderful to “see” you Lrong. The recipe for your strawberries would be lovely, I don’t grow my own but the strawberries in the grocery are looking paler and paler so it might be fun trying out what you did. 🙂

    • Lrong says:

      Hi Theanne… long time no ‘see’… as in the reply to Norma Chang above, I am totally hopeless with recipes… sorry! But, if you can get your hands on some unripe strawberries, you can experiment too, like I did…

  3. Robbie says:

    Lrong that is AMAZING!!!! YUM! This next year, I plan on learning how to use what we grow. I decided some things may just not be useful to grow in our small city potater. I am concentrating on those items most useful to our daily eating + health. It must be hard being gone for long periods. Next year, we are going to Sweden to see our daughter, so I have to find someone to take care of the garden while I am gone. I am not looking forward to leaving my garden, but sometimes you just have too:-) L ove your photos:-)

    • Lrong says:

      I salute your ‘planning’, Robbie… I have a lot to learn from you… 🙂
      Sweden? That sounds quite like an adventure…
      But then again, I can understand your ‘not looking forward to leave your garden’ feeling…

  4. malar says:

    Strawberry relish? That sounds tasty!

Thank you for coming by!

