2016 season had been good…

The year 2016 had been a good year for Potager Y…
First and foremost, the wild boars did not get to do much damage to the plots and plants…
And, many plants and vegetables grew and produced very well…

pb230565a
The produce that gave me the most happiness was the navel orange…
This year was just crazy…
There were soooo many fruits dangling from the tree…

pb230577a
In my previous post, I blogged about the split oranges…
At the final count, the number of split navel oranges went over 100…
Still, we could harvest over 50 of them…
Each of these fruits weighed about 300 to 400 grams…
There was no way we could consume all of them…
Decided to give to our neighbors and work-mates…

pa052301a
The sweet basil grew fabulously throughout the summer, right up to early winter…
We enjoyed their fresh leaves every morning with our pizza toast…

pa082361a
The peanuts also did very well…
The raccoons did not come for them this year… nice!
I have harvested them some time ago, and drying them in the shade…

pa082371a

pb093551a
For many seasons, I had been struggling with how to grow the bell peppers…
Think I finally got the hang of it…
This year, I had only one plant, and it is still giving us loads of fruits…

pa152876a

pa152878a
This autumn, decided to ‘clean’ up the potager…
Collected some bamboo from the nearby forest to make the boundaries for the plots…
Had been using recycled wood for the boundaries but they rotted fast…
Hope the bamboo can last at least three or four seasons…
They look neat and pretty, don’t you think?

pb213991a

pb214005a
The chayote is the other produce that gave me lots of pleasure…
Tried growing this climber for the first time this year…
And woah… the fruits keep coming and coming…
They are pretty big, and each weigh about 400 to 500 grams…
They taste somewhat like cucumber… crunchy and delicious…
Like the oranges, I had to give away so many to our neighbors and my work colleagues…
And almost all of them were very pleased because this vegetable is not commonly sold in the stores…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 2016 season had been good…

  1. Ghtee says:

    You are so so blessed to have Mother Earth rewarding you with such a bountiful harvest!

    Am a Malaysian, totally fascinated with the Japanese way of life and farming.

    • Lrong says:

      Hi there… thank you for dropping by… yeap, I am forever thanking my lucky stars for the life I am enjoying… I adore gardening, and I am still fascinated myself, with how I got to be where I am living right now…

  2. narf7 says:

    Your Potager is amazing Lrong. The bamboo gives you a decent edge to your garden beds whilst adding a very attractive feel to the potager. Those oranges are HUGE! I wonder if we could grow peanuts? Do you need special seed peanuts or can you use shop bought? A really lovely post with lots to be happy about Lrong. I am so glad that you got to harvest a lot from your garden this year and that nature decided to stay away and give you a bountiful harvest to enjoy and share with all of your neighbours and friends 🙂

    • Lrong says:

      Hi Narf7… thank you very much for your comment… I am very lucky to be able to spend time and work on the Potager… love it so much… yes, the bamboo indeed adds to the beauty of the plots… and the oranges are big, really… I think you should be able to grow peanuts too… I got started by buying some seeds from the store… for the following season, I have always used seeds from my little harvest… I hope 2016 had been good to you too, farming-wise…

      • narf7 says:

        Thank you Lrong. We built garden beds out of fridges this year so that we could create a very waterwise series of vegetable gardens. Here in Tasmania Australia, it gets very dry over our summer period and we seemed to be forever watering as our soil is heavy clay soil and our property is on a steep slope and the water just ran down and out of the garden so we had to rethink our whole gardening endeavour. We have just finished building our fridge water wicking beds and have built a structure around the outside to keep out our native possums (much like your raccoons). This year has been very wet and unusual for us and even though it is now a third of the way through our summer months, I still haven’t had to start watering yet which is a real blessing. It has, however, made our vegetable growing season a lot shorter. Our growing season is in your winter season so it’s just starting to get going now. I am going to take your tip on the peanuts. I will buy some from our local Asian supermarket (raw in shell) and see if I can’t get some to grow. I love peanuts and we don’t have any thieving raccoons here to dig them up so fingers crossed, we might even be able to harvest some, even for the novelties value. Have a lovely holiday season to you and your lovely wife Lrong 🙂

      • Lrong says:

        Yes, the ‘raw in shell’ peanuts would be good for planting, I think… good luck!

      • narf7 says:

        Thank you Lrong. I will let you know how it goes 🙂

  3. malar says:

    This is my first time to see your plot! They look so neat!
    It’s good that the pest keep away from your garden!
    I can see so much satisfaction in your face! Happy harvesting! 😉

  4. Mrs. N says:

    Nice to see a post from you! I think this is the first time that I’ve seen your whole garden area…NICE! I had bumper mini-tomatoes this past season…just wow…they took over the whole garden! Thinking about what I’m going to do next planting season…Your oranges…super!!

  5. Keatsmarkandu says:

    Congrats on the bountiful harvest ! Not only luck but good effort too!

  6. seniorhiker says:

    You definitely have a green thumb and deserve to called a ‘master gardener’.

Thank you for coming by!

