Ten years of Potager Y @ Japan

dsc_0031a

We acquired this piece of land in 2007…
It was wild… and I was equipped with just simple garden tools…
Took me months, but I managed to manually clear up the land and carved up the lots…
(See here and here for an account and some pictures of the early days of Potager Y…)
Now, ten years into playing with the earthworms, I finally muster enough ‘courage’ to put up a (hand-written) sign board for the garden…

p1151351a

Grew four broccoli plants last autumn…
All four performed very well…
Next season, definitely going to grow them again…

dsc_0012a

The Japanese folks call this vegetable ‘Naba-na’…
My translation: ‘Vegetable flower’…
This veggie is a new experiment for the potager…
The part that is eaten is the flower bud section…
We pick and pick, and the plants produce and produce…
Lovely veggie… shall be growing them next season too…

dsc_0215a

My ‘sweeto-haato’ first bought this pumpkin from the local farmer’s market years ago…
I liked the taste of it, and kept the seeds…
Am not so sure of the name, but we call them ‘peanut kabocha’ (‘kabocha’ = pumpkin)…
The beauty of this pumpkin is in its ease to grow…
The popular type of pumpkin in Japan is the ‘Ebisu’ pumpkin…
But I find their young leaves are prone to attacks by those little-little yellow bugs…
Not so the peanut kabocha, whose leaves have more spiky hairs (to ward off those bugs?)…
This season, we managed to harvest about 15 of these lovely pumpkins…

p1181382a

Peeled and boiled the peanuts harvested from the potager…
Home-grown peanuts are really something to relish over…

dsc_0003a

This is called the ‘Dai-dai’ orange in Japanese parlance…
Its forte is its acidity, rather thick skin, and firm flesh…
Which makes is a fine candidate for making marmalade…
This plant is for my sweeto-haato…
She is quite fond of making those lovely marmalade with this orange…

dsc_0254a

And finally, a picture of our white ume flowers…
We over-trimmed the plant last autumn, so there will not be too many plums for us to enjoy…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ten years of Potager Y @ Japan

  1. narf7 says:

    Congratulations on a decade of Potager Lrong. We moved to Tasmania in 2007 to start a new life. It seems that it was a most fortuitous year for us all. Your property is lovely and what you and your lovely wife have done with it since then is amazing. I am so glad the elderly couple allowed you and your wife to buy the house in the end. I am sure they got very good karma for their generosity. I can’t wait to see how the next 10 years pans out in the potager 🙂

    • Lrong says:

      Thank you, narf7… your property is also very lovely, even though I think you have more ‘adversaries’ compared to what I have here… Yes, come to think of it, because of that elderly couple, we get to enjoy life at the potager as it is today…

      • narf7 says:

        We both have elderly folk to thank for our current situations. My dad left me this property in his will and I assure you, wild boars would trump everything that we have trying to eat our garden!

  2. Robbie says:

    Love the sign!! I need one this year???? You have inspired me. I have been away from blogging and just plain busy the past 6 months. I am stopping by all my favorite blogs. Yours was ( + always is) at the top of my list!!! You are my oldest blogger friend-yep, you were back in 2010 one of the first bloggers I visited. I sure enjoy your pictures, stories, and inspiration. I have your seeds to plant out this year in the garden you sent me a few years ago ( Egyptian spinach/Molokheiya). I saved the seeds you sent me and did plant some out a few years ago but did not save seed. I will spend this year! We had a mess in our front last year redoing our garage, so did not plant much last spring/summer…but this summer, I am excited to get out and get things going. I want to try the Molokheiya in soup, so I’ll be stopping by to get the recipe:-)

Thank you for coming by!

