Potager Y, mid summer 2017

Woohoo… some (delayed) updates of the potager…

DSC_0130a
This pic was actually from early spring (hence the attire), with yours truly feeling happy with the tomatoes…

DSC_0157a
Yes, the tomatoes did quite well, and we made tomato chutney out of the green ones, and shared some of them with our neighbors…

DSC_0064a
The potager was looking pretty and neat…

DSC_0069a
The chard seedling started off well…

DSC_0070a
The companions, lettuce and onions, got along very nicely…

DSC_0062a
So did the Komatsu-na…

DSC_0082a
The purple Malabar spinach is as always, looking somewhat photogenic…

DSCN0436a
Carrots were okay… not too bad…

DSCN0438a
But the cauliflowers were a bit miserable and smallish…

DSCN0448a
The ‘Pom-kan’ orange tasted very nice, and we look forward to seeing a bigger harvest next time…

DSCN1769a
The snap peas, did marvelously well, and gave us lots to eat over a few months…

DSCN1777a
The fava beans did equally well, and luckily, the crows did not come for them…

DSCN1807a
And finally, the Sakura cherries were lovely to look at and to eat…
Again, we were very happy to harvest them before the little birds came…

About Lrong

Gardening, I adore... Photography, I cherish... Scuba diving, I fancy... Shakuhachi, I relish... and barefoot walking, I revel in...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Potager Y, mid summer 2017

  1. Mrs. N says:

    Hey Lrong! I was starting to be worried about you- great update! Glad to see the potager doing well. My mini tomatoes have been going nuts here. Weather’s been cruddy but garden is doing ok. Happy to see your post‼️🍉🍆

    • Lrong says:

      Hi Connie… thanks for your comment and your thoughts… I am doing fine, actually… these days, my blogging time is being ‘taken over’ by playing the shakuhachi… I read that you had a ‘incident’, and I hope you are feeling better now…

      • Mrs. N says:

        Hey there friend! Awesome about the shakuhachi! Been tinkering with ukulele myself….yeah I should be back to normal by October. Really messed up my knee big time. Learned can lesson so I guess that’s ok.

  2. narf7 says:

    What a lovely post Lrong and great to see you looking happy and healthy with those lovely tomatoes. We are in the throes of winter here in Tasmania Australia but I can live happily by looking at the wonderful allotments and gardens of my friends in the north all over the world. Thank you for this lovely garden update and for all of these beautiful colourful images that remind me that spring is just around the corner for us in the southern hemisphere and that pretty soon our mud will dry up and we will be able to get back out into the garden. I have fava beans growing this year in my fridge wicking garden beds so fingers crossed I get some this year. Thank you again for these lovely photos, they are much appreciated. All happiness to you and your lovely wife 🙂

    • Lrong says:

      Hi narf7… thank you for your kind words and well wishes… summer here is really hot and after just 30 minutes in the garden, I sweat like a waterfall… anyway, glad to hear of your fava beans and I hope they will turn out well…

      • narf7 says:

        We are getting the opposite here at the moment and have had a very cold (for us, you would be in a t-shirt as you are used to a LOT colder than us 😉 ) and dry winter. I am looking forward to getting out into the garden and dabbling in food again 🙂

  3. malar says:

    Nice photo with the tomatoes! You look great! Good harvest too!
    I wish i’m your neighbour to receive a bottle of tomato chutney! hahhahaha…

Thank you for coming by!

